Google is great, but who has time to sift through all those results to find reliable information? The library offers access to authoritative databases, chockfull of quality content. We subscribe to them, so you can use them for free. Access from any library or from home using library card # and PIN (first 3 letters of your last name). Browse the diverse array of exclusive TexShare databases here, or select from the list below. And remember, library staff is always available to assist with your research efforts.           
   

DATABASES BY CATEGORY
 
Arts & Humanities Homework Help (K - 12 Resources)
Auto Repair & DIY Legal Help
Business Magazines, Journals & Newspapers
Career, Education, & Professional Development Recursos en Español
Encyclopedias & Reference  Science & Technology
Genealogy, History, Military & Religion Texas Resources
Health & Medicine  

 



ARTS & HUMANITIES

Contemporary Authors
Biographical coverage of more than 100,000 writers, entries on contemporary authors. 
Dictionary of Literary Biography
Outlines the lives and careers of authors from all eras and genres and summarizes the critical response to their work. Each entry contains personal information, a list of principal works and further readings about the author. 
Humanities Full Text (H.W. Wilson) 
Articles, interviews, obituaries and original works of fiction, drama and poetry in the fields of humanities
Literature Resource Center
Covers more than 90,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,000 of the most-studied authors. 
Scribner Writers Series
View a biography of an author's life and works. 
Twayne's Authors Series
View full text discussions of an author's works and a chronology of the author's life. 
Play Index
Plays dating from 1949, including one-act plays, pageants, plays in verse, radio and television plays, classic drama and monologues from famous playwrights.
Gale Literary Sources
Searches Literature Resource CenterLit FinderContemporary AuthorsDictionary of Literary BiographyLiterature CriticismTwayne’s Authors, and Scribner Writers.
Book Review Digest Plus
Book reviews on art, biography, business, education, general interest, history, humanities, literature, music and more with coverage back to 1983.
Essay and General Literature Index
Cites records in collections of essays and works published in U.S, Great Britain and Canada dating back to 1985, relating to humanities and social sciences.
Literary Reference Center
Author biographies, plot summaries and work overviews; full-text essays, literary reference books; full text for literary magazines and journals, book reviews, poems, short stories, classic texts, author interviews, and more.
EBSCO eBook Collection
Collection of eBooks and resource materials. 
NoveList
Reading recommendations for children, youth and adults.
Short Story Index
Information on short stories by author or genre providing indexing for stories from various collections and anthologies.


C
AUTO REPAIR & DIY

Auto Repair Reference Center
Do-it-yourself repair and maintenance information on most major manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles. New repair procedures, TSBs and updates are added to the product on a regular basis. All of the content has been created by ASE certified technicians. 
Consumer Reports
The world's largest nonprofit product-testing organization, offering access to product ratings and reviews, in-depth advice, tips and trends written by Consumer Reports experts. 
Small Engine Repair Reference Center 
Repair guides for all kinds of small engines.
Hobbies & Crafts Reference Center
"How-to" instruction, videos, and creative ideas for hobby enthusiasts. Full text is provided from leading hobby and craft magazines, including Bead & Button, Creative Knitting, FineScale Modeler, Quilter's World and more.
 Home Improvement Reference Center
"How-to” information on home improvement/repair projects.
 


BUSINESS

Business Abstracts with Full Text 
Full-text articles from various publications providing access to product evaluations, interviews, biographical sketches, corporate profiles, statistical rankings and more.
Business Source Complete
Covers all aspects of business world with full-text articles from business journals on management, economics, finance, accounting, and more.
Foundation Center Grants to Individuals (Access in Library Only)
Foundations and public charities that fund students, artists, researchers, and other individual grant seekers.
Foundation Center Grants to Organizations (Access in Library Only)
Comprehensive information on grantmakers and their grants including database of foundations, corporate giving programs, grantmaking public charities, sponsoring companies, award grants, and recently filed IRS forms 990 and 990-PF. 
Morningstar Investment Research Center
Stock and mutual fund information with current and historical quotes for over 90,000 investments and in-depth analysis for nearly 7,000 mutual funds and stocks; company and industry information and financial education tutorials.
Small Business Reference Center
Reference books and full-text periodicals with how-to instructions on small business topics such as buying and selling a business, managing employees, writing a business plan, understanding legal information, and more.

 


CAREER, EDUCATION, & PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT

Lynda.com
Leading online learning platform that helps anyone learn business, software, technology and creative skills to achieve personal and professional goals; contains video library of engaging, top-quality courses taught by recognized industry experts.
Job & Career Accelerator 
Guides job seekers through career selection and job searching.
Learning Express Library 3.0
Interactive test preparation site for academic, career and civil service tests such as the 4th grade and 8th grade reading tests, postal work exam, GED, SAT and as ASVAB (Armed Services).
Vocational & Career Collection
Designed for vocational and technical libraries servicing high schools, community colleges, trade institutions and the general public.
TeachingBooks.net
Adds multimedia dimension to child and young adult reading experiences; includes resources about fiction and nonfiction books used in the K–12 environment, selected to encourage the integration of multimedia author and book materials into reading and library activities.
TOPICsearch
Explores social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms; contains full text articles from diverse sources.
U.S. College Database
Updated, non-commercial directory of all large universities, small colleges, community colleges and trade schools nationwide.
Professional Development Collection
Database for professional educators providing collection of high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles and educational reports.
Pronunciator 
Fun way to learn any of 80 languages with self-directed lessons, live teachers, movies, music, and more.
ProCitizen 
Online course to prepare New Americans for the civics, reading, and writing parts of the USCIS Naturalization Test. Includes 100 instructional videos in both English and Spanish.
Educational Administration Abstracts
Bibliographic records related to educational administration, including educational leadership, educational management, educational research and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
Teacher Reference Center
Provides indexing and abstracts for over 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators. Teacher Reference Center offers coverage on topics such as assessment, best practices, continuing education, current pedagogical research, curriculum development, elementary education, higher education, instructional media, language arts, literacy standards, school administration, science and mathematics, teacher education, and more.



ENCYCLOPEDIAS & REFERENCE
 
World Book Online
Entire set of World Book encyclopedias, searchable through the library catalog. 
Funk & Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia
Over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas. 
RAND Statistics
Source for Texas and U.S. Statistics including data on population, economics, education, crime rates, health care, government finance, census, and more. 
Reference USA
Basic directory information for more than 210 million U.S. residents and 14 million businesses in all zip code areas of the United States; includes business name, address, phone number, headquarters, branch and subsidiaries identification, SIC codes, yellow pages headings, ticker symbol, credit rating, number of employees, and estimated sales volume. 
Serials Directory
Up-to-date and accurate bibliographic information as well as current pricing structures for popular serials
Academic Search Complete
Full-text articles from scholarly publications, abstracts, and indexing.
ERIC (Education Resource Information Center)
Premier database of journal and non-journal in education literature. 
Gale Databases
Collection of materials from a variety of sources: magazines, books, reference materials, newspapers, almanacs, media files, etc. 
 


GENEALOGY, HISTORY, MILITARY & RELIGION

American Indian Histories and Cultures
Rare and significant documents from the Edward E. Ayer Collection at the Newberry Library, Chicago.
The American West
Sourced from the Everett D. Graff Collection at the Newberry Library, Chicago, 'The American West' allows browsers to explore tales of frontier life, Pioneers, Wild West shows, the Gold Rush, vigilantes and outlaws.
Ancestry Library Edition (Access in Library Only)
Access to over 7 billion names in over 4,000 genealogical databases including Census Records, Passenger Lists and UK & Ireland records (library version of Ancestry.com).
Bibliography of Native North Americans
Citations to literature about native peoples of North America published from the sixteenth century to the present. 
Heritage Quest Online
Census data, family records, local histories, and more. 
Military and Government Collection
Current news pertaining to military and government, the database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals and other content.
Religion & Philosophy Collection
Cover topics such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. 



HEALTH & MEDICINE

Agricola
Bibliographic records from U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library. 
Alt Health Watch
Full text providing coverage of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine dating back to 1990.
Family Studies Abstracts
Bibliographic records related to family studies, including marriage, divorce, family therapy and other areas relevant to the discipline.
GreenFILE
Database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment. 
Health Reference Center Academic
Full text and images of respected nursing, allied health and medical journals; consumer health magazines; newsletters; pamphlets; newspaper articles; topical overviews; and reference books.
Health Source: Consumer Edition
Authoritative information on health-related questions including full text of health magazines written for the layperson. USP DI Volume II, Advice for the Patient, Stedman's Medical Dictionary, and health-related pamphlets are included.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Articles on fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nutrition, diseases, public health, occupational health and safety, alcohol and drug abuse, HMOs, prescription drugs, etc. The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.
MEDLINE
Information from journals indexed in the national Library Medicines' MEDLINE file. Gain information about such fields as medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system and preclinical sciences.
Natural & Alternative Treatments
Complementary and alternative medicine database designed specifically for the consumer-health researcher. 
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
Full text publications, including peer-reviewed titles covering topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
Race Relations Abstracts
Content relating to race relations. Specific areas covered include ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas related to the discipline. 



HOMEWORK HELP (K – 12 RESOURCES)

Explora supports both student research and classroom instruction with rich, reliable content and easy-to-use functionality.
Explora Elementary 
Explora High School
Explora Public Libraries
Explora Educator's Edition                                 
Learning Express Library 3.0  
Interactive test preparation for academic, career and civil service tests such as the 4th grade and 8th grade reading tests, postal work exam, GED, SAT and ASVAB (Armed Services). 
MAS Ultra - School Edition
Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database provides full text for popular general interest and current events publications with information dating as far back as 1975 for key magazines.  
Middle Search Plus
Full text for popular magazines for middle and jr. high school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles) with information dating as far back as 1990.  
Primary Search
Full text for popular magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles) with information dating as far back as 1990.  
TOPICsearch
Explores social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms; contains full text articles from diverse sources.


LEGAL HELP
 
Legal Information Reference Center
Full text for many top consumer legal reference books, the resource contains hundreds of full-text publications and thousands of legal forms.
Legal Collection
Full text for nearly 250 of the world's most respected, scholarly law journals, the resource is an authoritative source for information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world.
Legal Forms
State-specific legal forms across popular legal areas including real estate contracts, wills, pre-marital agreements, bankruptcy, divorce, landlord tenant and more; also includes comprehensive attorney state directory and dictionary of legal definitions explained in laymen's language.


MAGAZINES, JOURNALS, & NEWSPAPERS
 

The 2014 and 2015 issues of the San Angelo Standard Times are available in searchable, digital format from inside all Tom Green County Libraries.
Directory of Open Access Journals
Indexing, abstracting, and full text for selected international scholarly journals in many subject areas, including agriculture and food science, biology, chemistry, health science, languages and literature, mathematics, physics, engineering, the arts, business, environmental science, history, law, political science, philosophy, religion, and social science.  
MasterFILE Premier
Full text for general reference, business, health, science, and multi-cultural periodicals.
Newspaper Source
Full text for nearly 30 national and international newspapers; also contains full text TV & radio news transcripts and full text for over 200 regional newspapers. 
Regional Business News
Full-text for international newswires and regional business publications.

 


RECURSOS EN ESPAÑOL

EBSCOhost en Español
(Interfaz en español contraduccion de los articulos). Base de datos sobre muchos temas - incluye texto completo. Los articulos están traducidos por un programa de la computadora del inglés.
Ebrary / e-libro
Titles from more than 500 publishers, 95% from Latin America and Spain with Open Access titles for seamless access to scholarly works. Books for the collection are selected for both research and instructional value from leading commercial, academic and university press publishers from Spain and all countries in Latin America. The full range of academic topics is covered in the collection, as well as more general reference works.
Fuente Academica
Fuente Academica is a unique collection of scholarly academic journals from renowned Latin American and Spanish publishers. This database provides full text coverage (including PDF) for nearly 200 scholarly Spanish language journals. Content is provided in Spanish from respected publishers worldwide.
MedicLatina
MedicLatina is a Spanish language collection of medical research and investigative journals published by renowned Latin American medical publishers. This unique database provides access to full text for nearly 100 peer-reviewed medical journals.
ProCitizen | Preparación para obtener la ciudadanía estadounidense
Si ya tienes un nombre de estudiante y contraseña de Pronunciator, puedes iniciar sesión a continuación. De lo contrario, regístrate donde dice "¿Es tu primera vez aquí?" y recibirás un nombre de estudiante y contraseña que funcionán tanto para Pronunciator como ProCitizen.
Pronunciator es una manera divertida y fácil de aprender cualquiera de los 80 idiomas disponibles.
Salud en Español
Salud en Español provee en español artículos y hojas informatívas comprensivos basados en la evidencia sobre todos los aspectos de la salud del consumidor. En los artículos informáticos específicos se ofrecen resúmenes sobre todos los aspectos de la salud, tales como enfermedades, condiciones, procedimientos médicos y varios tratamientos. El contenido de esta base de datos incluye una colección variada de temas ralacionados a la salud: primeros auxilios, el cuidado de y enfremedades de niños, la medicina alternativa, y el proceso de envejecimiento y la salud.   



SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY

Computer Source
Full-text journals and magazines covering topics such as computer science, programming, artificial intelligence, information systems, robotics, and software.
Information Science & Technology Abstracts
Database of information science resources dating back to the mid-1960s.
Library, Information Science, & Technology Abstracts
Indexes journal articles from over 600 publications as well as books, research reports, and conference proceedings with coverage extending back to 1966.
Science & Technology Collection
Full text journals covering aspects of the scientific and technical community such as aeronautics, astrophysics, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, and materials science.
Science in Context
Contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics, the resource merges Gale's authoritative and continuously updated reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
Science Reference Center
Database of full-text, science-oriented content.
 



TEXAS RESOURCES
Handbook of Texas Online
Searchable encyclopedia of Texas history, geography, and culture 
Portal to Texas History
Covers geographic areas of Texas and prehistory through the 20th century. Designed for historians,students, and lifelong learners, the Portal emphasizes primary sources and features digital reproductions of photographs, maps, letters, documents, books, artifacts, and more. Portal curriculum Primary Source Adventures that comply with TEKS (Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills) standards will highlight relevant materials for classroom teachers. 
Texas Reference Center
Full text journals and books about Texas history, ethnic and cultural diversity, gender studies, literature, public health, business as well as home & garden and sports & leisure; contains biographies portraying famous historical and contemporary Texans such as George Herbert Walker Bush and Lady Bird; includes the Spanish-language newspaper El Sol de Texas.
Texas Digital Sanborn Maps
Property and land-use records that depicts the architecture of more than 12,000 U.S. towns and cities throughout the past one hundred years.
 
TexShare Databases
A group of databases covering a wide variety of subjects. Databases include Electric Library, Wilson Select, Masterfile, ERIC, First Search, and the Handbook of Texas.